10
Jun
10

Chapter 19 – Extending your productivity in SSMS and Query Analyzer

Productivity.  In today’s perception of the economy, jobs and overall economic stability, productivity is often the difference between those who excel and those who don’t.  This chapter is all about increasing your productivity and as a result, the productivity for your employer or client.  All of which increase your value.

Pawel Potasinski (Blog | Twitter) has some great examples on how to create custom keyboard shortcuts including the creation of utilities that can be poured onto your query screen with a singular key stroke… genius!

Some of the other options / shortcuts in SSMS that I’ve found of value over the years are very simply changing the options.  For instance, I’m often asked how to keep a result set from truncating… a setting can be found in SSMS under the tools menu… Then navigate to options –> Query Results –> Results to Text and modify the “Maximum number of characters displayed in each column”.  This setting is incredibly valuable for those times when dynamic sql is written to generate sql statements. 

Another option that I use a lot is found in the same section under “Results to Grid”.  The top two “Include the query in the result set” and “Include column headers when copying or saving the results” are both just awesome!  I cannot recall the amount of times that I spent time writing a very specific query for an audit or a business analyst and then saved that query “in a safe place” which of course is code for “to never be found again”.  This option saves me a great deal of time and simplifies the amount of organization required a great deal as I can simply run the query; save off the results (with the query and column headers attached!).  Awesome!

Of course, one of the huge benefits with SSMS 2008 is intellisense… I have to admit that intellisense drove me NUTS for the first few months… it took me a long time to adjust and learn how to best use intellisense.  Now that I have stuck with it for a while; it’s brutal to be on a 2005 system without intellisense.  I find myself trying to remember how spell simple object names like dbo.employee instead of d[tab].em[tab] … that simple example saves me 6 key strokes.  That’s a savings of 50 percent!!! 

Lastly, I just have to comment on this comment “…during development of my database, which contains more than 100,000 objects at the moment…”  Dude, Pawel, 100,000 objects?  wow.

1 Response to “Chapter 19 – Extending your productivity in SSMS and Query Analyzer”


  1. June 15, 2010 at 5:01 am

    I hate to admit this, but I have not gotten use to intellisense just yet. It is driving me crazy and it is worse with the way that I write code because I do it sort of backwards at time. I have to admit the 50% savings keystrokes would be cool, if it did not take me 1 min to remember how to do it. Maybe I have to give it another try.


Leave a Reply

Chapters

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers