13
May
10

Every DBA Should Consider LINQ

 

Do I have your attention?

As a DBA; chances are you will have to have the discussion about LINQ eventually. LINQ or the Language Integrated Query is a way that an application can access your database. More to the point it makes accessing the database for developers easier. Before sitting in on Ben Hoelting session at a User Group meeting last month I would have talked about how easy is not always better. I would have given you examples about Auto Grow, or Auto Shrink that I think prove my point. But as time goes on I also have to understand that features that are added to languages, tools or products can be helpful if they are used correctly. (This does not mean I have abandon my easier is not better theory.)

I think the key to using them correctly is knowing what the positives and the negatives are to each of the tools that you are looking at. When you look at LINQ you should be having discussions with your developers and have the chance to reach a comprise where they can use the tools that makes their life a bit easier while not impacting the database negatively. With that all being said, none of that can’t be done if you don’t understand LINQ and you don’t know what to watch out for. This is where Chapter 15 comes in. Chapter 15 will help you navigate your way around LINQ and give you some ideas on some of the pitfalls to watch out for.

One of my biggest mis-understandings was that LINQ would not use stored procedures. It will, and when it can use a stored procedure many of my fears were laid to rest. A stored Procedure is compiled, and if it is performing poorly, I can open the hood up and see what the piece parts are doing underneath. My experience with LINQ in the past pointed me in the direction that LINQ would know what’s best and I should stay out of its way. Bob Beauchemin also talks about using LINQ with middle tiers.

 

0 Responses to “Every DBA Should Consider LINQ”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Chapters

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers