19
Mar
10

Pulling apart the FROM clause

Pulling apart the FROM clause…So in this latest chapter, the author(Rob Farley) goes into a lot of detail with the different types of JOINs and understanding the FROM clause.

When I first started reading the chapter, I immediately thought of a time where I was interviewing for a job and was asked to write out a simple JOIN query. I have to say first that I am not a good interviewee. I get too dang nervous and I have been told that before. Anyways, I was so nervous, I totally botched the query. I wrote it on the white board and when I stepped back to look at it, I thought “wow, that is way wrong”. I beat myself up (not literally) after that. Later I sent an email to the persons I interviewed with and thanked them and wrote out the correct way to write a JOIN query.

So back to the book. There are so many different ways to write out JOINS, its mind boggling. I enjoyed the section named “The appearance of most queries” because in that section I think there is an important piece that the author speaks about and that is “how to read a FROM clause”. If you are an experienced DBA, you may say “I know how to read a FROM clause”. That is fine but if you are a new DBA, learning to read and breaking down a complex query with billions of JOINs can really help in troubleshooting or just knowing where to start. This is another great section for experienced and new DBAs/ developers.

Thank you for sticking with us. Please leave us comments or sign-up to become a guest blogger. Have a good rest of the week.

0 Responses to “Pulling apart the FROM clause”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Chapters

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers